Board of Zoning Appeals

The Board of Zoning Appeals (BZA) is a quasi-judicial board whose decisions may be disputed by the losing party via judicial review; neither the Advisory Plan Commission nor the county executive has the authority to review such decisions. The BZA is responsible for adjudicating the following:

  • Disputes over the interpretation of land-use ordinances
  • Special-exception requests
  • Contingent/conditional uses
  • Variances
  • Administrative appeals

The BZA meets at 6:00p.m. ET on the fourth Monday of each odd-numbered month (on Tuesday if a holiday falls on the fourth Monday), in the Commissioners’ Room, in the Courthouse, meeting room of the County Highway garage, 1131 North U.S.-35, Winamac, until further notice. Public hearings may be scheduled, as needed, for the same time on the fourth Monday of even-numbered months.

IMPORTANT NOTICE REGARDING COUNTY MEETINGS: In order to encourage safe distancing in an effort to stop the spread of COVID-19, in-person attendance at County meetings at the Highway garage is limited to no more than 130 persons, including County personnel, until such time as said practices are no longer necessary. In order to comply with amended Open Door Law policies, the County will live-stream public meetings via Facebook and/or other media.

c/o Pulaski County Building Department

BZA Members
IC 36-7-4-902(a) establishes the required composition of the BZA.

Chairman: Derrick Stalbaum, County Commissioners’ citizen-member appointee (2024)
Vice-Chairman: Phil Woolery, Plan Commission’s appointee (2021)

Matt Kelsey, County Commissioners’ citizen-member appointee (2023)
Abby Shidler-Dickey, County Commissioners’ Plan Commission appointee (2022)
Jeremy Wentz, County Council’s citizen-member appointee (2023)
*Member, BZA Rules Committee

Doug Hoover, Plan Administrator
Karla Pemberton, Administrative Secretary

Nathan P. Origer, Ex. Dir., PCCDC
Kevin Tankersley, BZA Attorney

Alternate BZA members
Leanne Will, County Council’s citizen-member alternate
[vacant], Plan Commission’s alternate appointee
Gretchen Shidler, County Commissioners’ citizen-member alternate

It is illegal to seek to influence a member of the Board of Zoning Appeals regarding any matter before the Board, pursuant to Indiana Code 36-7-4-920(g).

Pulaski County BZA/APC Hearing Application for variances and special exceptions
Planning/Zoning fees
View the BZA Rules of Procedure.
View the 2020 BZA meeting schedule and minutes.

Building/Planning/Zoning home